Chicago-Kent home page Student portal Faculty portal Staff portal About The Record Current Record headlines Publication deadlines The Record archives

Program in Labor and Employment Law home page

Week of April 30, 2018



Labor/Employment Certificate Program

Please click on links:

Course Information Helpful for Registering for Fall 2018

AND

LADR/Labor & Employment Law Joint Certificate Program

_____________________________________

LELS Executive Board

2017-2018 School Year

President: Ms. Yuting Li yli256@kentlaw.ii.edu ,
Vice President for External Affairs: Ms. Miranda Huber, mhuber4@kentlaw.iit.edu
Vice President for Internal Affairs: Ms. Rebecca Downey, rdowney1@kentlaw.iit.edu
Treasure: Mr. Jeremiah Shavers, jshavers@kentlaw.iit.edu
Secretary: Mr. Jonathan Friedman, jfriedman1@kentlaw.iit.edu
Technology Director: Ms. Brenda Capistran, bcapistr@kentlaw.iit.edu
1L Representative - Section A, Mr. Patrick Foote: pfoote@kentlaw.iit.edu
1L Representative - Section B, Mr. Rexly Penaflorida, rpenaflorida@kentlaw.iit.edu
1L Representative - Section C, Mr. Sean Imburgia, simburgia@kentlaw.iit.edu

2018-2019 School Year

President: Ms. Miranda Huber, mhuber4@kentlaw.iit.edu
Vice President for External Affairs: Ms. Melissa Ortega, mortega5@kentlaw.iit.edu
Vice President for Internal Affairs: Mr. Patrick Foote: pfoote@kentlaw.iit.edu
Secretary: Mr. Nicholas Ustaski, nustaski@kentlaw.iit.edu
Treasure: Mr. Eric Slutsky, eslutsky@kentlaw.iit.edu
Technology Director: Ms. Saman Haque, shaque5@kentlaw.iit.edu

__________________________________________________________

WINNER - 2018 SANDRA P. ZEMM LABOR LAW PRIZE

Sandra P. Zemm was a partner in the Labor and Employment Department at Seyfarth Shaw’s Chicago office. Ms. Zemm passed away in 2008 after a long battle with cancer. Her family, friends, and colleagues created the Sandra Zemm Prize to honor her.

The Sandra P. Zemm Prize in Labor and Employment Law is awarded annually to a graduating student in Chicago-Kent’s Labor/Employment Law program who embodies Ms. Zemm’s “commitment to a career in labor and employment law, pioneer spirit and willingness to take the initiative, and gracious and generous attitude toward helping those in need.”

IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law’s Institute for Law and the Workplace is pleased to announce that the 2018 Sandra Zemm Prize in Labor and Employment Law is awarded for to Yuting Li.

Yuting Li embodies the qualities that made Ms. Zemm so special to her colleagues and the legal community. Yuting has taken part in every aspect of the Labor and Employment Law Certificate Program at Chicago-Kent, including taking on leadership roles. She is the current president of the Labor and Employment Law Society, where she is doing an amazing job. She is also a student editor for the Employee Rights and Employment Policy Journal and the Illinois Public Employee Relations Report. Yuting externed at Laner Muchin and for Justice Terrence J. Lavin in the Illinois Appellate Court First District. Additionally, she worked as a legal intern at the Workplace Rights Bureau of the Illinois Attorney General’s Office, the Chicago Housing Authority, and currently at Delaney Law P.C. Yuting’s academic accomplishment are also noteworthy; she received the CALI award for both Labor Law and Negotiations.

Like Ms. Zemm, Yuting is always ready to help people in need. Her classmates have described her in some of the following ways: “Yuting has always been very helpful and supportive;” and Yuting is very involved in trying to help other students take advantage of the labor and employment certificate program.” Beyond helping her fellow students, Yuting cares deeply about the educational rights of migrant workers’ children. She is also dedicated to serving the public, as evidenced by her volunteering at the Illinois Legal Aid Online and Chicago Volunteer Legal Services Chinatown Pro Bono clinic.

 

 

CALENDARS

.: Main Chicago-Kent event
   calendar

.: Academic calendar

.: CLE calendar

.: Alumnae/i event calendar

.: Admissions calendar

Chicago-Kent home page Student portal Faculty portal Staff portal About The Record Current Record headlines Publication deadlines The Record archives