Chicago-Kent home page Student portal Faculty portal Staff portal About The Record Current Record headlines Publication deadlines The Record archives

Program in Labor and Employment Law home page

Week of October 20, 2015

Labor and Employment Relations Association Meeting with Allison Beck

Please join our special guest, Allison Beck, the director of the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service, for a presentation regarding current and future FMCS initiatives.
A box lunch and drinks will be served.
We ask that you register for the program no later than
NOON on Friday, October 23.

Members-$20 Non-Members-$25
IIT Chicago-Kent Students and Faculty-No Charge
Please contact Rich Blackwell,, in the event you must cancel.
Register online at


2015-2016 Louis Jackson National Student Writing Competition in Employment and Labor Law
(co-sponsored by the Institute for Law and the Workplace and the Jackson Lewis Firm)

Topic: Papers may address any topic relating to the law governing the workplace, such as employment law, labor law, employee benefits, or employment discrimination. Only the first two submissions per law school will be accepted as entries for consideration. Submissions must be the law student author's own work and must not be submitted for publication elsewhere. Authors must have completed or be currently taking course work in employment or labor law, and must be enrolled in an accredited law school during the Fall 2015 semester. There are formatting guidelines that MUST be followed. For questions, contact Professor Martin H. Malin, by email at

Prizes: One top honors award of $3,000 and two $1,000 awards will be presented to the top three entries. In addition to the cash awards, the top three entries will be published on the Institute for Law and the Workplace website. (Electronic versions of winning papers will be required).

Deadline: Submissions are due no later than Tuesday, January 19, 2016.


IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law
Institute for Law and the Workplace
April 2015

Sandra Zemm was a partner in the Labor and Employment Department at Seyfarth Shaw's Chicago office. Ms. Zemm passed away in 2008 after a long battle with cancer. Her family, friends, and colleagues created the Sandra Zemm Prize to honor her.
The Sandra P. Zemm Prize in Labor and Employment Law is awarded annually to a graduating student in Chicago-Kent's Labor/Employment Law program who embodies Ms. Zemm's "commitment to a career in labor and employment law, pioneer spirit and willingness to take the initiative, and gracious and generous attitude toward helping those in need."

We are delighted to announce that this year's Sandra Zemm Prize is awarded to Samantha Dudzinski. Ms. Dudzinski embodies the qualities that made Ms. Zemm so special. First, her help for those in need has been demonstrated since early in her law school career through her work with CARPLS as a student volunteer, her work with Chicago-Kent's Society of Women in Law, and her membership in the Labor and Employment Law Society. Along the path to graduation, Ms. Dudzinski demonstrated her commitment to a career in Labor and Employment law by clerking for a firm that does Workers' Compensation law, as well as working in Chicago-Kent's Employment Discrimination Clinic. She serves this year as Secretary of the Labor and Employment Law Society here at Chicago-Kent, and has been instrumental in organizing presentations by the student Labor/Employment Law Society, including a recent faculty debate on whether the football players at Northwestern University are "employees" under the NLRA. Ms. Dudzinski is generous with her time in talking with first-year students and prospective students interested in Labor and Employment Law; her enthusiasm for Labor and Employment Law is a powerful incentive for others.

As in past years, the faculty of the Institute for Law and the Workplace are impressed with the achievements and generosity of so many of our graduating students. It has been a privilege to work with you all.


LELS Executive Board for 2015-16

Naomi Frisch - President
Jenna Kim - Vice President of External Affairs
Joseph Sweeney - Vice President of Internal Affairs
Brent Keller - Secretary/Treasurer
Warren Katz - IT Director



.: Main Chicago-Kent event

.: Academic calendar

.: CLE calendar

.: Alumnae/i event calendar

.: Admissions calendar

Chicago-Kent home page Student portal Faculty portal Staff portal About The Record Current Record headlines Publication deadlines The Record archives