Office of Academic Administration and Student Affairs:
News & announcements from Asst. Dean Stephen D. Sowle  for the week of September 7, 1998

Main Record Index 
Chicago-Kent Home Page 
E-mail Dean Sowle 
Student Awards Luncheon.  The annual Student Awards Luncheon will be held on Tuesday, October 6, 1998, from 12:00 noon to 1:30 p.m. in the Presidential Ballroom of the Midland Hotel, located at 172 West Adams Street.  All students who earned CALI awards during the Fall 1997, Spring 1998, and Summer 1998 terms should receive an invitation from Dean Perritt in the near future.  If you earned a CALI award and don't receive an invitation by Friday, September 18, please contact me (inlcude the course, instructor, and semester you earned the award). 

More CALI Award Winners.  Congratulations to the following students, who received the highest grades in the courses indicated.  Other CALI award winners were announced in the August 24 and August 31 issues of the Record.  If you received an award, your name will appear on the award certificate and in the program for the Student Awards Luncheon as it appears below.  Please e-mail me if you want to make any changes. 

Spring 1998 Semester  
Advanced Research (Prof. Clemons): Michael R. Karnuth 
Advanced Research (Prof. Moss): Sherry A. Mundorff 
American Legal History (Prof. Wilf): Joanna C. Kitto 
Bankruptcy Litigation (Prof. Reibman): William E. Dutton, Jr. & 
    Katherine C. Schroder 
Critical Race Theory (Prof. C. Harris): Bryan P. Diemer & Francelyn Perez 
Immigration Law & Policy (Prof. Kempster): Sita Balthazar-Thomas 
International Law (Prof. B. Brown): Brandy A. Sargent 
Legal Rights of Children (Prof. N. Hablutzel): Christopher J. DeLise &
    Anne Steele 
Legal Writing 2 (Prof. Gatter): Paul J. Ferak 
Medical Malpractice (Profs. Lavin & Schwartz): Daniel S. Kirschner 
Negotiations (Prof. Davis): No award given 
Negotiations (Prof. Schoenfeld): Carolyn J. Buntin & Timothy J. Vertovec 
Patent Law (Prof. Hulbert): Carole A. Mickelson 
Personal Income Tax (Prof. Chapman): Kathryn J. Banzhof & John B. MacIntyre
    (this is a corrected entry; Mr. MacIntyre's name was inadvertently omitted
     from the initial list of CALI winners)
Regulations, Enforcement, & Litigation of Hazardous Waste (Profs. Felitti &
     Warren): Israel B. Marquez 
Sexual Orientation & the Law (Prof. Samar): Natalie Mandelbroyt,
     Melanie K. Miller, & Mitchell Sered 
Telecommunications Law & Policy (Prof. Kraft): Michael D. Ambroziak
Trial Advocacy 1 (Prof. McSweeney-Moore): Denise P. Erlich 

1998 Summer Session  
Evidence (Prof. Kling): Susan C. Grune 
Internet Law (Prof. Warner): Nathan Austin 
Remedies (Prof. Huttenhower): John Bretscher 
Law Office Technology (Prof. Blackwell): Carole A. Mickelson

Furniture in Classrooms.  If you have any reason to remove tables, podiums, chairs, or other furniture from classrooms temporarily, please be sure that you return them promptly.  Missing furniture can cause serious inconvenience to instructors and students. 
Main Record Index Top of Page