Writing Contests:
Information provided by Dean Sowle's Office
1998-99 Academic Year

Main Record Index 
Chicago-Kent Home Page

New listings added for the current week are indicated in italics.  Print copies of the rules and regulations governing the writing contests listed here are available from Denise Lang in Suite 320.  Note:  Additional information on law student writing competitions is available on the University of Memphis Law School website. The University of Memphis site may have information about writing contests not listed here. 

The National Lawyers Association Foundation announces a writing competition on the following subject:  "What is the legal connection, or relationship, between the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution of the United States of America?"  First prize is $1,000 and expenses to attend the Annual Convention of the National Lawyers Association.  Submissions must be received no later than June 1, 1999

The Santa Clara University Computer and High Technology Law Journal announces its 1999 Comment Contest on the topic, "legal issues of the next millennium."  Suggested areas include: privacy, internet copyright issues, on-lin contracts, encryption, cloning, gene mapping and manipulation, Y2K and other computer bugs, and other emerging technical areas requiring legal guidelines.  Prizes will be awarded as follows:  first place $2,000; second place $1,5000; third place $1,000.  Entries must be postmarked by June 1, 1999

The Federal Circuit Bar Association announces its 1999 George Hutchinson Writing Contest.  Submissions may discuss any topic that lies within the procedure, substance, or scope of the jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals.  An award of $2,000 will be given to the first place entry.  Second and third place awards may be given at the discretion of the judges.  Submissions must be postmarked no later than June 1, 1999

The Planning and Law Division of the American Planning Association announces its 16th annual R. Marlin Smith Writing Competition.  Submissions should address a question of significance in planning, planning law, land use law, local government law, or environmental law.  The winning entry will receive $1,500 and will be submitted for publication in The Urban Lawyer. Submissions must be postmarked no later than June 4, 1999

The Intellectual Property and Entertainment Law Section of the Los Angeles County Bar Association announces its Thirteenth Annual Entertainment Law Writing Competition.  Entries may be on any area of entertainment law.  Three prizes will be awarded:  first place $1,000; second place $5000; third place $250.  The first place article will be published in COMM/ENT, Hastings Journal of Communications and Entertainment Law.  Each law school may submit up to two articles written during the current academic year by second or third year or LL.M. students.  Entries should be submitted to Dean Sowle no later than June 15, 1999. 
The American College of Tax Counsel announces its Eighteenth Annual Student Writing Contest.  The winning paper will be published in the American Journal of Tax Policy and the winner will receive $1,000.  Second prize is $600, and third prize $400.  Submissions must concern tax policy and must not have been published or accepted for publication elsewhere.  Entries must be postmarked no later than June 30, 1999

The American Judges Association announces its Eleventh Annual Law Student Essay Competition.  Submissions should be on a topic of general interest to any broad segment of the judiciary.  Three prizes will be awarded:  first place $3,000; second place $1,250; third place $1,000.  Entries must be postmakred not later than June 30, 1999

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) announces its annual Nathan Burkan Memorial Competition.  Submissions may be on any aspect of copyright law.  A first prize of $600 and a second prize of $250 will be awarded at each participating law school.  Each school will be responsible for selecting the winning papers.  Any Chicago-Kent student interested in submitting a paper should contact Dean Sowle as soon as possible.  Winning papers must be certified to ASCAP no later than June 30, 1999

The University of Alberta announces its first annual Holocaust Remembrance Essay Competition.  Submissions can be on any topic, provided only that they somehow address the relationship between law and the Holocaust.  Entries must be submitted no later than July 1, 1999

The Los Angeles Bankruptcy Forum and the California Bankruptcy Journal announce the Joseph Bernfeld Essay Competition.  Submissions should focus on an issue of bankruptcy, insolvency law, or related matters, such as debtor-creditor relations, receiverships, assignments for the benefit of creditors, or out-of-court workouts.  Three prizes will be awarded:  first place $2,500; second place $1,500; third place $1,000.  Entries must be postmarked no later than July 1, 1999

The Section of Public Contract Law of the American Bar Association announces its 1999 writing competition.  Submissions should address a topical issue in public contract or grant law.  First place papers will receive an award of $1,000; second place papers, $500.  Entries must be postmarked by September 15, 1999

The National Conference of Bar Examiners announces its first annual Joe E. Covington Prize for Scholarship in Bar Admissions Topics, which will be awarded to the winning essay on one of the following topics:  (1) Computer-based testing for the bar examination: can adaptive testing or complex format testing better gauge applicant abilities? (2) How can the bar examination and bar admission processes enhance the professional committment of newly admitted Lawyers to integrity, civility, and the advancement of basic societal values in the practice of law? (3) Bar admissions in the 21st century: should the bar admission process be change?  Submissions must be received by November 30, 1999.

Main Record Index Top of Page