Writing Contests:
Information provided by Dean Sowle's Office
1999-2000 Academic Year

Main Record Index
Chicago-Kent Home Page

New listings added for the current week are indicated in italics.  Print copies of the rules and regulations governing the writing contests listed here are available from Denise Lang in Suite 320.

The editors of Law and Social Inquiry announce a writing competition for the best journal-length paper in the field of sociolegal studies.  The author of the winning paper will receive a cash prize of $500. Submissions must be received by March 1, 2000.

The Texas Intellectual Property Law Journal announces its 2000 writing competition, sponsored by the law firm of Jenkens & Gilchrist.  Submissions may address any topic related to intellectual property law. Prizes of $1500 for first place and $750 for second place will be awarded.  Submissions must be received by March 1, 2000.

The Houston Journal of International Law announces a competition for the James Baker Hughes Prize, awarded to the best unpublished student manuscript on the subject of international economic law.  First place receives a $500 cash award.  Submissions must be received by March 1, 2000.

The Roscoe Pound Foundation announces the 2000 Roscoe Hogan Enviornmental Law Essay Contest on the topic: "Causation standards for toxic torts."  The winning entrant will receive a $5,000 cash award and a paid trip to Chicago to receive the award at the annuanl Convention of the Association of Trial Lawyers of America.  Each entry must be submitted through a faculty adviser.  Entrants must submit an intent-to-enter form by February 11, 2000.  The essays themselves must be submitted no later than March 31, 2000

The law firm of Foley & Lardner announces its Intellectual Property Competition 2000 for student essays related to intellectual property management. Twelve prizes totaling $10,000 will be awarded.  Acceptable topics "are as broad as a candidate's initiative, creativity and vision." Representative examples incude, but are not limited to: protecting intellectual property rights to maximize competitive opportunities; extracting untapped value from intellectual property; auditing patents to determine whether they should be enforced, licensed, donated or terminated; and identifying prospective IP licensees. Submissions must be postmarked no later than April 1, 2000.

The Risk Assessment and Policy Association (RISK) announces a student essay contest.  Essays should address a matter of policy concern in managing consumer, environmental, or occupational risk.  The author of the winning essay will receive a prize of $300.  Submissions must be received by April 1, 2000.

The ABA Section of Family Law invites submissions for its 2000 Howard C. Schwab Memorial Essay Contest in Family Law.  The contest is open to second- and third-year full-time students and second- through fourth-year part-time students.  Submissions can be on any aspect of family law. Prizes will be awarded as follows: first prize, $700; second prize, $500; third prize, $300. Entries must be postmarked on or before April 4, 2000.

The International Association of Defense Counsel announces its 2000 writing contest.  Submissions must address subjects in the fields of tort law, insurance law, civil procedure, evidence, or other areas of the law of practical concern to lawyers engaged in the defense, or management of the defense, of civil litigation.  Prizes of $2,000 for first place, $1,000 for second place, and $500 for third place will be awarded. Submissions must be postmarked no later than April 10, 2000.

The Alliance Defense Fund announces its William Pew Religious Freedom Scholarship Competition.  An award of $7,500 will be given to the full-time law student who submits the winning paper on the topic of extending equal access to religious viewpoints in elementary education.  Submissions must be postmarked no later than April 15, 2000.

The Financial Markets Center announces a writing contest for papers on the subject of "Reengineering the Federal Reserve System."  The winning entry will receive the Henry B. Gonzalez Award -- $2,500 and publication of the paper by the Center.  The deadine for entries is April 28, 2000.

The Food and Drug Law Institute announces its 1999-2000 H. Thomas Austern Memorial Writing Competition. Winning papers will be considered for publication in the Food and Drug Law Journal. Papers should be on a current issue relevant to the food and drug field.  Three prizes will be awarded:  first place $3,000; second place $2,000; third place $1,000.  Papers must be received no later than May 12, 2000.

The Attorney-CPA Foundation announces its 1999-2000 essay contest on the theme, "How do the International Accounting Standards Committee (IASC) standards compare with U.S. standards on dimensions of comparability, transparency, quality, and full disclosure?"  The grand prize winner will receive a $1,500 prize.  Submissions must be received no later than May 12, 2000.

The Animal Law journal announces its third annual writing competition to encourage legal scholarship addressing legal issues affecting animals.  Submissions may be on any animal legal issue.  The author of the winning essay will receive a $500 award and publication of the article in the journal.  Submissions must be postmarked no later than May 31, 2000.

The Federal Circuit Bar Association announces its 2000 George Hutchinson Writing Contest. Submissions may discuss any topic that lies within the substance, procedure, or scope of the specialized jurisdiction of the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals.  An award of $2,000 will be given to the first place entry. Second and third place awards may be given at the discretion of the judges. Submissions must be postmarked no later than June 1, 2000.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) announces its annual Nathan Burkan Memorial Competition for third-year law students.  Submissions may be on any aspect of copyright law.  A first prize of $600 and a second prize of $250 will be awarded at each participating law school.  Each school will be responsible for selecting the winning papers. Any Chicago-Kent student interested in submitting a paper should contact Dean Sowle. Winning papers must be certified to ASCAP no later than June 30, 2000.

The Los Angeles Bankruptcy Forum and the California Bankruptcy Journal announce the 2000 Joseph Bernfeld Essay Competition on subjects related to bankruptcy law and debtor-creditor relations.  Three prizes will be awarded:  first place $2,500; second place $1,500; third place $1,000. Submissions must be postmarked by July 1, 2000.

Main Record Index Top of Page