Writing Contests:
Information provided by Dean Sowle's Office
1999-2000 Academic Year

Main Record Index
Chicago-Kent Home Page

New listings added for the current week are indicated in italics.  Print copies of the rules and regulations governing the writing contests listed here are available from Denise Lang in Suite 320.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) announces its annual Nathan Burkan Memorial Competition for third-year law students.  Submissions may be on any aspect of copyright law.  A first prize of $600 and a second prize of $250 will be awarded at each participating law school.  Each school will be responsible for selecting the winning papers. Any Chicago-Kent student interested in submitting a paper should contact Dean Sowle. Winning papers must be certified to ASCAP no later than June 30, 2000.

The National Lawyers Association Foundation announces its annual writing competition. This year's theme is: Should the Declaration of Independence, its history and the principles and rights set forth therein, be taught in all elementary and secondary schools? The winner will receive a cash prize of $1,500 and a paid trip the the Sixth Annual National Lawyers Association Convention in Kansas City. Submissions must be received no later than July 1, 2000.

The Los Angeles Bankruptcy Forum and the California Bankruptcy Journal announce the 2000 Joseph Bernfeld Essay Competition on subjects related to bankruptcy law and debtor-creditor relations.  Three prizes will be awarded:  first place $2,500; second place $1,500; third place $1,000. Submissions must be postmarked by July 1, 2000.

Main Record Index Top of Page