Chicago-Kent home page Student portal Faculty portal Staff portal About The Record Current Record headlines Publication deadlines The Record archives

Writing Contests:

Information Provided by Dean Sowle's Office

Academic Administration and Student Affairs home page
Week of October 20, 2008

New listings added for the current week, if any, are indicated in italics.  Print copies of the rules and regulations governing the writing contests listed here are available from Denise Lang in Suite 320.

*Congratulations to David Simon (class of 2008) for winning first place in the IDEA: The Intellectual Property Law Review Annual Student Writing Competition; and for placing as first runner-up in the Pacific Legal Foundation's annual writing competition.
*Congratulations to Christoper Jacob (class of 2009) for winning third place in the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers National Law Student Writing Competition.
*Congratulations to Gwynne Kizer (class of 2010) for winning first place in the 2008 SmithAmundsen Excellence in Legal Writing Award.

Sponsor/Title: American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers Writing Competition.
Topic: Any topic dealing with consumer financial services law.
Prizes: First place, $1,000.
Deadline: December 1, 2008.
Web site:

Sponsor/Title: Uniform Law Commission/William J. Pierce Writing Contest.
Topic: Submissions should address a uniform or model act, or an issue arising from a uniform or model act promulgated by the Uniform Law Commission.
Prizes: First place, $1,000.
Deadline:December 31, 2008.
Web site:

Sponsor/Title:  2008-2009 Louis Jackson National Student Writing Competition in Employment and Labor Law (co-sponsored by the Institute for Law and the Workplace and the Jackson Lewis law firm).
Topic:  Papers may address any topic relating to the law governing the workplace, such as employment law, labor law, employee benefits, or employment discrimination.  Only the first two submissions per law school will be accepted as entries for consideration. Submissions must be the law student author's own work and must not be submitted for publication elsewhere. Authors must have completed or be currently taking course work in employment or labor law, and must be enrolled in an accredited law school during the Fall 2008 semester. There are formatting guidelines that must be followed. For questions, contact Professor Martin H. Malin by email at
Prizes:  One top honors award of $3,000 and two $1,000 awards will be presented to the top three entries.  In addition to the cash awards, the top three entries will be published on the Institute for Law and the Workplace website. (Electronic versions of winning papers will be required).
Deadline:  Submissions are due no later than Tuesday, January 20, 2009.

Sponsor/Title: Public Justice Foundation/Roscoe Hogan Environmental Essay Contest.
Topic: Pollution preemption: federal preemption of state tort law and environmental protection.
Prizes: First place, $5,000.
Deadline: Intent-to-enter form due January 30, 2009. Submissions due March 31, 2009.
Web site:

Sponsor/Title: American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers (ASCAP)/ Nathan Burkan Memorial Competition.
Topic: Any aspect of copyright law.
Prizes: First place $600, second place $250 at each participating law school. National prizes may be given in the discretion of the sponsors in the amount of $3,000 (first prize), $2,000 (second prize), and $1,000 (third prize).
Deadline: June 30, 2009.
Other Information: Two winning papers will be chosen, and awards given, at each participating law school. Open to third-year (or, with permission, second-year) law students. Each school will be responsible for choosing the winning papers. Any Chicago-Kent student interested in submitting a paper should contact Dean Sowle well in advance of the June 30 deadline.

Sponsor/Title: The Theodore Tannenwald, Jr. Foundation for Excellence in Tax Scholarship and The American College of Tax Counsel/Tannenwald Writing Competition.
Topic: Any federal or state tax-related topic.
Prizes: First place, $5,000; second place, $2,500; third place, $1,500.
Deadline: July 1, 2009.
Web site:


.: Main Chicago-Kent event

.: Academic calendar

.: CLE calendar

.: Alumnae/i event calendar

.: Admissions calendar

Chicago-Kent home page Student portal Faculty portal Staff portal About The Record Current Record headlines Publication deadlines The Record archives