Chicago-Kent home page Student portal Faculty portal Staff portal About The Record Current Record headlines Publication deadlines The Record archives

Writing Contests:

Information Provided by Dean Sowle's Office

Academic Administration and Student Affairs home page
Week of October 21, 2013

New listings added for the current week, if any, are indicated in italics.  Print copies of the rules and regulations governing the writing contests listed here are available from Theda Mickey in Suite 320.

*Congratulations to Laura Homan (class of 2013) for being selected as a Fall 2012 winnter of the National Law Review Law Student Writing Contest.
*Congratulations to Anne Marfisi (class of 2013) for winning first place in the 2011 SmithAmundsen Excellence in Legal Writing Award.

Sponsor/Title: Association of Securities and Exchange Commission Alumni, Inc. (ASECA)/Securities Law Writing Competition.
Topic: Any subject in the field of securities law.
Prizes: First place, $5,000; second place, $3,000; third place, $2,000.
Deadline: November 15, 2013.

Sponsor/Title: American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers (ACCFSL) Writing Competition.
Topic: Entries should address a topic on consumer financial services. Topics that are predominantly securities regulation, insurance, or the safety-and-soundness aspects of banking regulation are not eligible However, works on subjects within these (or other) areas will be considered if they bear directly on consumer financial services.
Prizes: First place, $1,000.
Deadline: December 2, 2013.
Web site: Click here.

Sponsor/Title: Florida State University Center for Innovative Collaboration in Medicine and Law/Mollie and Paul Hill Student Writing Competition in Medical-Legal Interprofessional Collaboration.
Topic: Entries should address the following Contest Quetion: The Affordable Care Act (ACA) enacted into law in 2010 attempts to improve the access of Americans to improved quality health care, while controlling the nation's escalating health care expenditures. As the ACS gets further implement in 2014, discuss opportunities and challenges this law presents for constructive, innovative collaboration between the legal and medical professions in contributing to the quest for a more affordable and accessible high quality health care system.
Prizes: First place, $2,000.
Deadline: January 2, 2014.

Sponsor/Title:  2013-2014 Louis Jackson National Student Writing Competition in Employment and Labor Law (co-sponsored by the Chicago-Kent Institute for Law and the Workplace and Jackson Lewis LLP).
Topic:  Papers may address any topic relating to the law governing the workplace, such as employment law, labor law, employee benefits, or employment discrimination.  Only the first two submissions per law school will be accepted as entries for consideration. Submissions must be the law student author's own work and must not be submitted for publication elsewhere. Authors must have completed or be currently taking course work in employment or labor law, and must be enrolled in an accredited law school during the Fall 2013 semester. There are formatting guidelines that must be followed (click here for details). For questions, contact Professor Martin H. Malin by email at
Prizes:  One top honors award of $3,000 and two $1,000 awards will be presented to the top three entries.  In addition to the cash awards, the top three entries will be published on the Institute for Law and the Workplace website. (Electronic versions of winning papers will be required).
Deadline:  Submissions are due no later than Tuesday, January 21, 2014.


.: Main Chicago-Kent event

.: Academic calendar

.: CLE calendar

.: Alumnae/i event calendar

.: Admissions calendar

Chicago-Kent home page Student portal Faculty portal Staff portal About The Record Current Record headlines Publication deadlines The Record archives