Chicago-Kent College of Law:  Home Page Chicago-Kent College of Law:  Home Page    


Program in Intellectual Property Law

2007-2008 IP News Archive

IP student David Simon takes first place in the 2008 IDEA Student Writing Competition
David Simon is the first place winner in this year's IDEA: The Intellectual Property Law Review Annual Student Writing Competition. As the first place winner, David will receive $500 and publication in Volume 49 of IDEA. Congratulations David! (05/2008)

Goesta Schindler, 07-08 LivSafe IP Program Fellow, returns to Germany
Goesta Schindler, last year's LivSafe IP Program Fellow, has returned to Hamburg, Germany. Goesta is currently working for the IP boutique KNPZ while finishing his doctorate degree at the University of Muenster and preparing for the bar. (04/2008)

ProfessorDinwoodie to Receive 2008 Ladas Award for Best Article on Trademark Law
Professor Graeme Dinwoodie's article on Confusion Over Use: Contextualism in Trademark Law (with Janis), was selected by the International Trademark Association to receive the 2008 Ladas Award for Best Article on Trademark Law. (04/2008)

ProfessorDinwoodie Awarded 2008 Pattishall Medal for Teaching Excellence of Trademark and Trade Identity Subjects
The International Trademark Association also selected Professor Dinwoodie as the recipient of the 2008 Pattishall Medal for Teaching Excellence of Trademark and Trade Identity Subjects, which will be presented at a gala dinner at the Annual Meeting of the International Trademark Association in Berlin in May.

Sponsored by Pattishall, McAuliffe, Newbury, Hilliard & Geraldson LLP and INTA, the Pattishall Medal was established in tribute to Bevery W. Pattishall, a pioneer in the development of trademark law in the United States, to recognize educators in the business and legal fields for outstanding instruction with respect to trademarks and trade identity.

The Pattishall Medal recognizes the university or graduate school academic, nominated by his/her peers or students, who best exemplifies the qualities of excellence and innovation in teaching subjects broadly related to trademarks and trade identity. (04/2008) LL.M. Day 2007 in Frankfurt, Germany
Chicago-Kent presented its prestigous LL.M. Program in International Intellectual Property Law at the LL.M. Day 2007 in Frankfurt, Germany on October 6, 2007.

The " LL.M. Day" is a career fair open to a small select group of German law-school graduates who want to pursue the degree of Master of Laws (LL.M.). Chicago-Kent was among 12 highly ranked U.S. law schools to present its LL.M. program and discuss the benefits of participating in a graduate law program abroad. The LL.M. Day 2007 also featured representatives from prestigious law firms that discussed the various benefits of an LL.M. degree for legal practice. For more information visit (9/2007)

Interviews for IP Moot Court Teams (Trademark & Entertainment/Copyright)
Professor Piatt and Professor Renner will be accepting applications and doing interviews for the Lefkowitz Trademark and the Pepperdine Entertainment moot court teams at the end of September. If you would like to be considered for membership on either team, please forward your expression of interest as well as a current resume and writing sample to Professor Piatt ( Professor Piatt will then schedule an interview with you. 

The Lefkowitz Trademark moot court is the most prestigious trademark competition and one in which the Chicago-Kent teams have done well in the past, including winning the national competition. The brief will be due January 6, 2008, and the regional competition (here in Chicago) will be Saturday, February 9, 2008. The top team from the regional competition goes to the national competition in Washington, DC to be held March 22, 2008. 

The Pepperdine Entertainment moot court is held in the fall and the team will compete in the fall, 2008 at Pepperdine University in Malibu, California (there is only one national competition). We have also done quite well in this competition. The problem is generally distributed the last week of August, the brief is due at the end of September and the oral competition is either the end of October or the beginning of November. 

Please contact Prof. Piatt if you have any questions about these or any of the IP moot court competitions.  Additional information may be found at (9/2007)

Emily Morris Joins the IP Faculty
Professor Emily Morris will join the IP Program faculty beginning in the Fall as a visiting professor. During the 2007-2008 academic year, Professor Morris will teach Patent Law, as well as a course in Patent Litigation. Most recently, Professor Morris was an adjunct faculty member at the University of Michigan School of Law.

Jessica Kaiser, JD '05, Begins Federal Circuit Clerkship
Jessica Kaiser, a 2005 graduate of Chicago-Kent, will begin a one-year clerkship with Chief Judge Paul R. Michel of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, the country's top patent court, beginning in the Fall 2007.

Tim Holbrook Interviewed on First Business News
Nationally-syndicated First Business News used Chicago-Kent associate professor Tim Holbrook as an expert source in a story about biogeneric drugs. Please click here to view the interview. (07/2007)

Goesta Schindler, LivSafe IP Program Fellow
Goesta Schindler, who spent 2006-2007 at Chicago-Kent, will return this year as the LivSafe IP Program Fellow and will co-teach the graduate seminar on International Intellectual Property with Professor Dinwoodie. Goesta is currently working on his doctorate at the University of Muenster in Germany and succeeds Katja Weckstrom who was last year's IP Program Fellow. (7/2007)

Louis J. Manetti, II Wins First Dolores K. Hanna Trademark Prize
Louis J. Manetti, II a 2007 graduate of Chicago-Kent College of Law, has won the first Dolores K. Hanna Trademark Prize. The prize was established last year at Chicago-Kent by the law firm of Bell, Boyd & Lloyd, LLC to honor Dolores K. Hanna, a 1952 Chicago-Kent graduate who served as the firm’s special trademarks counsel. Hannah retired from active practice in June 2006.

The Dolores K. Hanna Trademark Prize is awarded at the end of the school year to a Chicago-Kent student based on outstanding performance in an intellectual property course. Recipients are selected by Chicago-Kent faculty who teach the law school’s program in intellectual property law. (06/2007)

Speakers for Spring 2008 Chicago IP Colloquium Announced
The six speakers for the Spring 2008 Chicago IP Colloquium have been announced. Please visit the Chicago IP Colloquium page for additional information.

Katja Weckstrom Teaches at the University of Louisville School of Law
Katja Weckstrom, 2006-2007 IP Program fellow, will be teaching at the University of Louisville School of Law.

Graeme Dinwoodie, Counsel of Record for AIPLA
Professor Graeme Dinwoodie, program director, was counsel of record for the American Intellectual Property Law Association ("AIPLA") in connection with an amicus brief filed by the association in support of a petition for certiorari in ITC v. Punchgini.

Current IP news page



  J.D. Certificate   LL.M. in International IP Law   Program Activities   Student Activities   Careers   IP Alumni   IP Faculty   Related Links

  Webmail Login              Updated April 23, 2009     Office of Public Affairs     Contact Us