Society of Women in Law:
News & announcements for the week of
April 12, 1999

Main Record Index 
Chicago-Kent Home Page 
Women in Law Home Page  
E-mail WIL 
Winner of the SBA's Award for "Outstanding Student Organization of the Year" in 1998  
WIL 1999-2000 Executive Board ELECTIONS!
Tuesday, April 13th from 8:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. in the Spak
Don't forget to vote Tuesday for next year's Executive Board! 
All dues-paying members can vote.  Dues may be paid on Tuesday.
Click here for Candidate Statements
Bake Sale Tuesday from 8:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. 
Don't forget to bake some yummy treats for our final Bake Sale of the year!  Our bake sales have been very successful in the past due to the wonderful goodies that are brought in for us to sell.  Don't let us down - help us meet our goal of $100 by baking some scrumptious treats that no-one can refuse.  And don't forget to stop by and buy something for yourself, too!  Proceeds help fund WIL activities, including its Summer Fellowships. 

Volunteers are still needed to sit at the table to sell treats and to man the election booth - please watch your e-mail for updates of times that are needed, or e-mail with the times you would like to volunteer.  Thanks! 

Applications for 1999 Summer Fellowships due Friday the 9th by 5:00 p.m. 
Summer Fellowships are available to members working for a public service organization over the summer.  The position should be either pro bono or partially salaried.  Work relevant to women, as a community, is strongly preferred.  For the 1999 Summer, WIL will be offering between $3,000 and $4,000 in Fellowships (exact amount depends on KJF matching funds after KJF Auction).  No one student will be awarded more than $2,500.  

To be eligible for a WIL Summer Fellowship, you must: 
1) Be a currently enrolled student at Chicago-Kent College of Law who will return in Fall, 1999;  
2) Have paid your $10.00 Women in Law membership dues for 1998-'99; 
3) Have secured a position with a public service employer for Summer, 1999; and 
4) Have participated in: 
 a) At least three (3) WIL events or activities AND at least three (3) Kent Justice Foundation (KJF) events or activities during the 1998-'99 year (as required to be eligible for KJF matching funds);  OR 
 b) At least three (3) WIL events or activities during the 1998-'99 year (to be eligible for exclusively WIL funds). 

TO APPLY:  To apply for the WIL Fellowships, you must complete and submit all application materials to the WIL mailbox by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, April 9th, 1999.  Fellowship Rules and applilcations are available on the WIL bulletin board on the Concourse.  Applicants are also encouraged to apply for KJF Fellowships, should they meet KJF's eligibility requirements.  Each application will be reviewed and a fellowship awarded to one or more individuals based on their respective needs.  Fellowship winners will be announced at the Spring Reception in late April.  
Applications for New Esther Rothstein Award due Friday the 9th by 5:00 p.m.  
WIL is very pleased to announce the creation of an annual honorary award named after the late Esther Rothstein.  The award will recognize a current Chicago-Kent student who has demonstrated initiative and dedication to women's issues.  The annual award will be presented at the end of each academic year and will consist of an honorary plaque and $250.00.   

 Interested students may apply for the award by submitting a short application (available on the WIL bulletin board on the concourse), current resume and personal statement.  Application materials are due to the WIL mailbox on the 2nd floor no later than Friday, April 9th at 5:00 p.m.  Students may exemplify their initiative and dedication to women's issues through past or current community involvement, employment experience, academic pursuit, political action, or other such activities and personal experiences.   Applicants may be of either gender and need not be a member of WIL.   

The winner of the award will be chosen by the WIL Esther Rothstein Award Selection Committee.  Committee members will include disinterested WIL Executive Board members and Professors Baker, Sowle and Steinman.   The award winner will be announced at WIL's Spring Reception during the last week of April.  For more information about Esther Rothstein, click here.  
Speaker April 14th: Cathy Young on "Feminism and the Movement Toward a New Equality"  
This program, the second of a two-part lecture series that WIL is co-sponsoring with the Federalist Society, features Cathy Young, author of Ceasefire: Why Women and Men Must Join Forces to Achieve True Equality.  The program will consist of Ms. Young speaking, as well as a panel discussion with Chicago-Kent faculty, including Professor Kathy Baker.  The event will begin at 6:00 p.m. in the Marovitz Courtroom, followed by a reception with food and beverages.  Don't miss this exciting event!  For more details, click here. 

WIL Spring Reception on Tuesday, April 27th 
Celebrate the end of the year with fellow WIL members, faculty and staff, and honored alumnae/i and guests.  Hors d'ouevres and drinks will be served.  Election winners for the 1999-2000 WIL Executive Board will be announced, as will the recipient(s) of the WIL Summer Fellowship(s).  Our honored speaker will be Mr. Alan Zenoff, Chicago-Kent '77 alumnus and relative of the late Esther Rothstein.  Mr. Zenoff will be announcing the recipient of the first annual WIL Esther Rothstein Award for initiative and dedication to women's issues.  Please R.S.V.P. by e-mailing 

REMINDER:Have you paid your membership dues yet?  
Please remember to pay your dues for the 1998-'99 year.  A $10.00 check made payable to Women in Law can be left in the WIL mailbox on the 2nd Floor.  Payment of dues allows you to participate in elections and mentorship programs, receive WIL outlines and discounts on WIL merchandise, and makes you eligle for our fellowships!  Dues are used to fund programs and social events throughout the year, as well as fellowships we give to students over the summer to help pay for expenses when they volunteer with a public service agency.  Thank you!  
1998-'99 WOMEN IN LAW  
Charis Runnels, President 
Abigail Kell, Vice President 
Stephanie Benway, Vice President 
Kimberly DeMarino, Treasurer 
Sita Balthazar-Thomas, Secretary 
Heather Fritch, Mentorship Coordinator 
Faye Hizon, 1L Day Division Rep. 
Sonia Kosar, 1L Evening Division Rep. 

If you have any questions about WIL membership, check out our webpage at or e-mail us at 
Main Record Index Top of Page