Society of Women in Law:
News & announcements for the week of
April 19, 1999

Main Record Index 
Chicago-Kent Home Page 
Women in Law Home Page  
E-mail WIL 
Winner of the SBA's Award for "Outstanding Student Organization of the Year" in 1998  
Don't forget to RSVP to the Spring Reception on Tuesday, April 27th! 
Celebrate the end of the year with fellow WIL members, Chicago-Kent faculty and staff, and honored alumnae/i and guests.  Hors d'ouevres and drinks will be served.  Election winners for the 1999-2000 WIL Executive Board will be announced, as will the recipient(s) of the WIL Summer Fellowship(s).  Our honored speaker will be Mr. Alan Zenoff, Chicago-Kent '77 alumnus and relative of the late Esther Rothstein.  Mr. Zenoff will be announcing the recipient of the first annual WIL Esther Rothstein Award for initiative and dedication to women's issues.  Don't miss the great opportunity to meet and greet others and celebreate the culmination of a fabulous year!  
Please R.S.V.P. by e-mailing so we can make sure we have enough food, nametags, etc.  

Bake Sale and Elections a Success! 
Thank you to everyone who helped with the Bake Sale and Executive Board elections last week. Once again we beat our goal of $100 for the bake sale, bringing in exactly  $120.00, even with a competing bake sale at the table right next to us!  YEAH!!!  (Just goes to show that we had better treats!)  The proceeds of the bake sale will go towards our Summer Fellowship Fund.

In addition, 30 members voted in the Executive Board elections.  The races were all VERY close, but no ties, so a run-off election will not be necessary.  Winners will be announced at the Spring Reception on Tuesday, April 27th at 5:30pm (the reception runs 4-7pm).

Esther Rothstein Award Winner to be Annouced at Spring Reception
WIL is very pleased to announce the creation of an annual honorary award named after the late Esther Rothstein.  The award will recognize a current Chicago-Kent student who has demonstrated initiative and dedication to women's issues.  The annual award will be presented at the end of each academic year and will consist of an honorary plaque and $250.00.   
This year's winner will be announced at the Spring Reception on April 27th.  Mr. Alan Zenoff, a 1977 alumnus of Chicago-Kent and one of Esther's beloved relatives, will be in attendance to pay tribute to Esther at the reception before the winner is announced.    For more information about Esther Rothstein, click here.  
REMINDER:Have you paid your membership dues yet?  
Please remember to pay your dues for the 1998-'99 year.  A $10.00 check made payable to Women in Law can be left in the WIL mailbox on the 2nd Floor.  Payment of dues allows you to participate in elections and mentorship programs, receive WIL outlines and discounts on WIL merchandise, and makes you eligle for our fellowships!  Dues are used to fund programs and social events throughout the year, as well as fellowships we give to students over the summer to help pay for expenses when they volunteer with a public service agency.  Thank you!  
1998-'99 WOMEN IN LAW  
Charis Runnels, President 
Abigail Kell, Vice President 
Stephanie Benway, Vice President 
Kimberly DeMarino, Treasurer 
Sita Balthazar-Thomas, Secretary 
Heather Fritch, Mentorship Coordinator 
Faye Hizon, 1L Day Division Rep. 
Sonia Kosar, 1L Evening Division Rep. 

If you have any questions about WIL membership, check out our webpage at or e-mail us at 
Main Record Index Top of Page